John Micklewright

At our April 6th, ’22 meeting John will give an illustrated talk on The Opening Country – a journey through France.

John Micklewright, a Winchester author,  is Professor Emeritus of Economics and Social Statistics at University College London. He works on poverty and inequality but has now turned his hand to travel writing. After years of ignoring France in his haste to get to Italy, where he worked for more than a decade, he walked from the Channel to the Alps and from the Normandy coast to the flanks of Mont Blanc. His recent book about this journey, The Opening Country (2021, Troubador), is a beautifully written account of his slow progress through the French countryside, in the tradition of authors such as Patrick Leigh Fermor and John Hillaby. The book is an evocative patchwork of landscape, nature, history, and literature, and draws on his father’s diaries that stretch back to the 1930s.