Chichester Literary Society Committee

The Committee

Patron: Simon Brett
Secretary: Janet Smith
Membership Secretary: Marjorie James
Treasurer: Brian French
Events Organiser: Louise Gibbon
Publicity: Roberta (Robbie) Grieve
Publicity: Lois Coulthart


Annual Subscription 2020  Due January 8th

Individual Membership  £40

Joint Membership  £70

Visitors £7,  Students £2  per meeting

About The Society

Chichester Literary Society, despite its name, is not elitist. If you love books – and learning about writers and their lives – then this Society is for you.

With our programme of talks and walks, outings and social events, we aim to promote love of the written word in whatever form it takes, be it prose or verse, the classics or more modern writers. In addition to talks by writers and literary experts, there are two annual social events – a summer party with readings and a Christmas social.

If you wish to contact a member of the committee please use the form on the Contact Us page and we will respond as soon as possible.


Biographer Valerie Grove with Patron Simon Brett and regular speaker Anne Harvey


The Chichester Literary Society was formed in January 2005. Its predecessor, the West Sussex Literary Society (founded by Irene Campbell) was disbanded and the new society formed in response to the wishes of members, who wanted a Chichester-based society, rather than one whose meetings were held in different locations around the county.

The new Society was an instant success and local crime writer Simon Brett agreed to continue as our Patron.

Since its formation, the Society has gone from strength to strength. Throughout the year it offers a wide range of talks by speakers on many literary subjects. Distinguished past speakers have included actor and broadcaster Gabriel Woolf, Peter Spence, Colin Wilcockson, biographers Valerie Grove and Anne Harvey, as well as our Patron, Simon Brett.